About the MCAT

What Is The MCAT?

The MCAT (Medical College Admission Test) – since April 2015 administered as the revised MCAT 2015 – is required by virtually all medical schools in the United States and many medical schools in Canada. MCAT results are the single most important part of their admissions process.

The test assesses knowledge of scientific concepts, problem solving skills, and critical thinking. It aims to test the skills and knowledge that are necessary for the study and practice of medicine.

How Is The MCAT Structured?

The topics covered on the MCAT fall into four broader multiple-choice sections:

  • Biological and Biochemical Foundations of Living Systems
  • Chemical and Physical Foundations of Biological Systems
  • Psychological, Social, and Biological Foundations of Behavior
  • Critical Analysis and Reasoning Skills

The MCAT 2015 is now longer than before. Test-takers will be presented with 261 questions within a time frame of 6 hours and 15 minutes.

How Is The MCAT Scored?

Each of the MCAT’s four sections is given a separate score on a range from 118 to 132. The sum of the score for each section constitutes the total score. The total MCAT score ranges from a low of 472 to a high of 528.

Where and When Can I Take The MCAT?

The MCAT is administered and developed by the Association of American Medical Schools. The exam is offered several times per year in various test site locations in the United States, Canada, and in other countries. Online registration for the test is available. Test-takers are not allowed to sit for the MCAT more than three times per year in a single testing year, four times in a two consecutive-year period, and seven times in a lifetime .

What Study Guides Can Help Me Prepare?

We recommend that you consult our review of the best MCAT preparation books and, if you would like to see additional test study guides, browse all available MCAT books and test prep materials.

Best MCAT Books – Read Reviews             Browse All MCAT Books