About the LSAT

What Is The LSAT?

The LSAT (Law School Admission Test) is a test that law schools in the United States, Canada, Australia, and other countries use to assess applicants.

The LSAT measures reading and verbal reasoning skills, which are deemed to be key for law studies. Therefore, the exam is thought to be a reliable predictor of future law school performance.

How Is The LSAT Structured?

The LSAT consists of five sections of multiple-choice questions. Each question falls into one of three categories:

  • Reading Comprehension — Measures the ability to read and comprehend complex texts
  • Analytical Reasoning — Measures analytical, logical, and deductive reasoning skills and the ability to organize information
  • Logical Reasoning — Assesses the ability to critically analyse, evaluate, and complete arguments

In addition, the exam includes an unscored variable section that is used to test future questions. Moreover, the final section of the exam requires candidates to give a writing sample in the form of an essay. The writing sample does not receive a score but will still be forwarded to law school admissions offices.

How Is The LSAT Scored?

LSAT raw scores are converted to a normalized scale. The final scores range from a low of 120 to a high score of 180.

Where and When Can I Take The LSAT?

The Law School Admissions Council (LSAC) administers the LSAT. The test is offered four times per year at various international test centers and test-takers may register online. Generally, LSAC has a policy that prohibits test-takers from taking the LSAT more than three times within a period of two years.

Best LSAT Books – Read Reviews             Browse All LSAT Books